Posted in Crafts

Easy Boiled egg Decorating this Easter!

Whatever happened to decorating a boiled egg? It seems to be way less popular these days. You can buy polystyrene eggs and plastic ones but do these really compare to the real deal?! Not in my book. One of the highlights of Easter for me was decorating a boiled egg…  the excitement of what to turn it into. Since growing up (or pretending to!) I’m still partial to this activity. So much so I do it with the children from my dance school every year on our Easter fun day. Take a little look at my tips below for a super fun easy egg decorating experience.

Place the eggs in a pan and cover with an inch of water (don’t put too many in! Or double layer as they will crack, I was doing 24 and used 3 pans) bring to the boil and then remove them from the heat. Cover the pan with its lid and let them sit for 10 minutes.

Then remove the lid and cool them off with cold running water. You can also let them sit in the water instead (if you don’t want to waste water) this will take at least 5 minutes. Once cooled pop them in the fridge until your ready to decorate, or let’s get going!

Tip: To stop the egg rolling about and so you don’t have to hold it, use a blob of play-doh. Squash it down with your thumb and create a crevasse. Stand your egg in it.

You will also need paints, brushes and water.

Younger children love paint don’t they? Eager to get going paints are usually mixed into some yucky brown colour and before you know it the vision you had is gone! But don’t let this bother you. It’s their creation.

Now here’s the secret to making it look cool! Using PVA glue stick two feathers either side, two googly eyes, cut a beak out of felt… we have a bird! This is great for younger children.

Or you can paint your egg white, use white felt to cut out two ears, googly eyes and paint a face to make an Easter bunny! You can even add a little pom-pom tail.

For older children still you can give them more of a free rein. I find felt is a great addition to boiled eggs to cut out and add detail. Animals are fairly easy to create, but how about a princess or a pirate? A dinosaur? Or why not use glitter or sequins for a more sparkly design?

Here you can see a penguin… plus a few others in the background. We had great fun creating these. I always think the beauty is in that they did it mostly by themselves.

I envisaged something like this… but theirs were even more awesome!

Why not decorate some boiled eggs with your children this Easter weekend? I hope this has inspired you a little. Have fun! x

Author:

Hey guys, I am Rachael - Welcome to my blog thepretendgrownup... cos let's face it were all just pretending aren't we?! Does anyone actually know what their doing or are you all just winging it like me?! I am very busy self employed mum to one. So I thought hmmm what can I do to make my life even more chaotic?... I know... start a blog! ha ha! So here I am... I will blog about all aspects of my life. My crazy funny son (who has ADHD). My dance academy where I teach street dance. I love photography, crafts, holidays, animals and anything Disney! As I'm on the verge of buying a house that needs renovating so I'm sure that will inspire many posts too. I'm not sure where this blogging journey will take me but I'm sure it will be fun and I will enjoy sharing my life. I hope you enjoy reading it! Rachael x

2 thoughts on “Easy Boiled egg Decorating this Easter!

Leave a Reply

